Coleman Peak1 576 - leaking from the top

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Centuryhouse, Nov 2, 2011.

1. Centuryhouse

I picked up this 1978 Coleman Peak1 576 this weekend. It seemed to burn fine, maybe a little more yellow than it should have in the flame.

Today I cleaned the tank, added new fuel, pumped it up - and it began leaking pretty heavily around the top. It appears to be leaking evenly all around the top - no more on any particular side.

I am still fairly new to these and haven't taken one of these single burners apart. Any ideas what might be leaking? Is it difficult to get these apart or back together?

I should add...both the black 'flame adjustment' and red 'fuel lever' knobs appear slightly melted, so I'm guessing whoever had it last experienced this problem as a flame out :shock:
    1320275045-Coleman_576_1978small.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2015
  2. toonsgt

Though it's possible that it's leaking there, more likely the fuel valve is on/leaking and the burner is flooding. These are pretty bullet proof. To test, loosen the generator nut and pump it up. You'll know the answer pretty quick either way. Obviously, don't do this inside or near flames.

As for disassembly, they don't come too much easier.

Take photos when you get it apart.

Mike

3. Centuryhouse

What should I see, or not see when I do that? I don't really know what's normal.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 2, 2015
  4. geeves

geeves New Zealand Subscriber

Only seen 3 Colemans leak there. Each one of them had been overfilled and was not faulty.
    The 533 i have caught fire when this happened to the previous owner so I got it cheap Good stove.
    A tramping buddys 422 did it after being lit in a tramping hut. Got it turned off quick enough and the 422 I have did the same but not lit to me while testing.
    Dont tip the tank when filling and the inner tube stops overfilling

5. toonsgt