'46 530

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by The Warrior, Jun 3, 2020.

  1. The Warrior

    The Warrior United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    the 'Nois man.
    Purchased this about a week ago, and got it in today. I'm sure everyone is familiar with the Coleman 530 "pocket" stove. Got a decent deal on it, and it's in fairly good shape. Has the wrench/handle, and funnel with it. Here's a few photos.

    I loosened the screw, and oriented the instructions correctly after I fired it up:

    1.jpg

    2.jpg

    Typical Coleman start up. By the way, the fuel in the background is further away than it looks:

    3.jpg

    Trims up in no time:

    4.jpg

    5.jpg

    6.jpg

    Probably not one I'll use too often, but wanted one for my collection.
     
  2. William Ritchie

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    San Diego California USA
    Nice example , Its probably old hat to all here , the priming cup / vaporizer nut from a m1950 really works well for startup , particularly when it is cold . I used a piece of heavy sheet steel to make the missing simmer plate on on of mine and makes it easier to perk coffee for sure . Thanks for sharing . WR
     
  3. ROBBO55

    ROBBO55 Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,157
    Location:
    Somersby, New South Wales, Australia
    Nice find, congratulations :thumbup:
     
  4. MrAlexxx

    MrAlexxx Subscriber

    Online
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,243
    Nice heavy embossing on that one. Always fun lighting them up and definitely one you need if you want us to let you into the club. lol :)

    Alex
     
  5. The Warrior

    The Warrior United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    the 'Nois man.
    Thanks guys, appreciate it.

    @MrAlexxx

    Thanks for letting me in the club. :p

    I didn't have this lit for very long, as it's hotter than hades in the kitchen, but the flame on this doesn't seem to go too high. Is that just how they are?
     
  6. Ed Winskill

    Ed Winskill United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,380
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washinghton, USA
    Very nice one.
     
  7. William Ritchie

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    San Diego California USA
    Mine both have a Tulip shaped flame about 2 - 3 inches tall when at full heat and pressure . The vaporizer is pretty easy to clean unroll the screen and decoke I think a lot of them were used with regular gasoline , no biggie as I see it Have fun fettling . SOS pads work wonders on the container as well . WR
     
  8. Marc

    Marc Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,753
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Great find! Not a polite stove, but a solid runner.

    Your flame does look low to me.
     
  9. Metropolitantrout

    Metropolitantrout SotM Winner Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,103
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    They're great stoves but yes your flame looks low.
    Here's mine: Coleman 530.jpg
     
  10. The Warrior

    The Warrior United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    the 'Nois man.
    Thank you sir.
    The unit itself is nice and shiny, but yeah, the aluminum case definitely needs a cleaning.

    I thought it did, When the wife got home, I lit it up to show her, and it was much higher. Hard telling how long it's been since it's been used.
     
  11. Barrett New Zealand

    Offline
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    Northern New Zealand
    Nice 530.

    Assuming everything else is working as it should.... you can "tune" the flame by lifting or lowering the spreader ever so slightly by bending the mounting arms.
    Learnt this through trial and error when my 530 needed a spreader replacement, which I hand made and "tuned", also did the same to a Primus 70.
    Between the flame and roar you'll find the sweet spot.

    Though it is frowned upon by some, I also added a home made pre heat cup with wick with a wind shield, it makes for very controlled lighting when it suits and can still do the fire dance otherwise.
     
  12. Marc

    Marc Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,753
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    After I got mine running, it was a wee bit sluggish and improved with every firing for awhile. I eventually gave it a bloody good gallop as James Herriot would say, left it running for quite some time. Helped tremendously.
     
  13. The Warrior

    The Warrior United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    the 'Nois man.
    Thanks for the info guys, appreciate it very much.
     
  14. Doc Mark

    Doc Mark Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17,650
    Howdy, @The Warrior ,

    Well done on scoring a nice 530! As has been mentioned, you can fashion a proper simmering plate by cutting one out of some sheet steel. As to size, just measure and cut it so that it will fit underneath your stove, in the tin, when packed away. Thanks for sharing your "new" Coleman, and have fun with it!! Take care, and God Bless!


    Every Good Wish,
    Doc
     
  15. The Warrior

    The Warrior United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    the 'Nois man.
    Thanks for the heads up Doc, appreciate it. I saw another forum selling simmering plates. Easy enough to make though.
     
  16. The Warrior

    The Warrior United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    the 'Nois man.
    Fired this up again, and let it run for a bit. Seems to get better as it runs more. A few photos:

    7.jpg

    8.jpg

    9.jpg

    A few vids. Was supposed to be one vid, but I hit stop instead of pause: