BERNZ-O-MATIC TX-500 PROPANE STOVE

Discussion in 'Other Brands' started by campinut, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. campinut

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    BERNZ-O-MATIC TX-500 PROPANE STOVE
    This one is not the best condition of my stoves but for $12 I couldn't pass it up! They also made a single mantle lantern in this style to. Easy to set up and light and handle folds up to make a convenient carry handle. Retro and cool looking way to go Bernz-o-matic....campinut...

    001.jpg 002.jpg
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2017
  2. microstove

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Is the red part a refillable bottle? Looks cool, thanks for sharing it.
     
  3. campinut

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    It's actually a red hollow cylinder that a propane tank slides into. My pic does not show that end but you attach regulator to bottle and slide in and screw the coupling or union together. Hope that explains it...campinut...
     
  4. DAVE GIBSON

    DAVE GIBSON Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,197
    i have both the stove and lamp and new propane bottles will not fit inside the red holder.you need to find old bottles and refill them.
     
  5. Sparky

    Offline
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,732
    Location:
    Houston, Tx area
    Well, this is a pretty inocuous post. I wonder why my company's internet nanny blocked my access to it. They said it was Danish Pornography. Huh?
     
  6. campinut

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Hello Dave, My newer propane bottles fit in my stove. Check to see if your cylinders on the lamp and stove are out of round. Mine slid in to 1/2 way up the bottle and stopped but I squeezed the cylinder and it slid right in. I am using a bernz-o-matic brand propane! There is not much tolerance thats why it has to be perfectly round....campinut...
     
  7. Doug Fleuette

    Offline
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Are parts available?? Took the jet out, is there supposed to be a wad of wick material behind the jet?
     
  8. Jerome Price United States

    Offline
    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    SW Michigan
    My brother recently gave me one of these however he claimed current propane tanks wont fit in the tank sleeve and that I would probably have to knock out the bottom. Upon trying it out I found that not to be the case but the thing leaked and I had to douse it with water to put the fire out. In a future post I'll send along some pics to show you where the problem seems to be.
     
  9. ArchMc

    ArchMc Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,646
    Location:
    Mojave Desert, California
    Note: This post is also in the "Coleman - Other Models" section, where it does not belong. I'm duplicating my response here (apology to mods if this causes problems).

    I have the two-burner version (though missing one of the fuel valves, so I can only use one burner at a time :lol: ) It works with current propane bottles.

    It may be that the "tube cowling" on the one-burner model doesn't accommodate modern propane bottles. The two-burner model has a shroud that allows them to be used. The valve fits fine, which is the important part.

    The missing nut is attached to the tube on the stove, and looks like this:
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    ....Arch
     
  10. Jerome Price United States

    Offline
    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    SW Michigan
    Looking at those pictures it doesn't look as though my stove is missing anything. However I will say tat there is no writing on that brass sleeve
     
  11. ArchMc

    ArchMc Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,646
    Location:
    Mojave Desert, California
    The writing says, "
    AT HIGH
    ALTITUDE
    ONLY
    OPEN THIS
    VALVE WIDE
    "

    I'll try to get some photos after I've caught up on sleep.

    ....Arch
     
  12. Jerome Price United States

    Offline
    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    SW Michigan
    During normal operation is that sleeve supposed to be screwed all the way up (blocking the vent holes underneath?)
     
  13. ArchMc

    ArchMc Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,646
    Location:
    Mojave Desert, California
    Yes, and it works fine that way. I've never tried the stove at high elevations. About 3000' is as high as I've used it.

    ....Arch