Coil Heater and how to use

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Ken Doubleday, Aug 21, 2019.

1. Ken Doubleday Australia

Hi All. I am new to fuel stoves however have found an old copper coil stove in my recently passed Dad's shed. I have cleaned it up and replaced washers and cleaned out the jet etc however I am not sure how to start it.. I have used methylated spirits and was trying to heat the coils just above the jet to start a "flow". Not working. Is this correct or is there more to it?

Ps I also found/have a Primus 210 which I am doing up too. Just working on the pump tube as it needs to be removed as nrv is rotating in the bottom. Bummer really Oh well :)

156636290117530080395371846841.jpg 20190727_145833.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2019
  2. cottage hill bill

cottage hill bill Subscriber

If it has been empty for a while, add fuel and let it sit for about 30 minutes. There are wicks which run from the tank up each side of the coil and they need to soak up fuel. After that, simply hold a lit match in the center of the coil. It will splutter and flame from the jet, then catch and turn to a steady burn. It might take a couple of matches. I use a bbq starter, like a Bic lighter with a long tube.

Check the gasket on the fuel cap. If it is old and dry it will need replaced. Coil burners must have an absolute air-tight seal as the heat from the coil is all that pressurizes them. If any air leaks at the cap it won't burn well, if at all.

3. Ken Doubleday Australia

Thanks heaps. It has new seals however it does not seem to have any wicks, as there is nothing coming from the coils into the tank. I will try and get some and then try again.

4. Rangie

Rangie Subscriber

Ahaa, these coil burners are generally white gas/coleman fuel/naptha fuelled devices.

Warm with your hands until you see fuel seeping out, light and then it builds up pressure/sustains itself.