Coleman Peak 1 - 500 Series - What is the difference between gasoline and kerosene generator?

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by OutdoorStefan, Aug 30, 2021.

  1. OutdoorStefan Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Germany Stuttgart
    Hi,

    does some know the technical difference between these two generator types?

    Best regards
    Stefan
     
  2. snwcmpr

    snwcmpr SotM Winner Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    16,200
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Is there a kerosene generator for the 500? I did not know (think) there is.
     
  3. OutdoorStefan Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Germany Stuttgart
    I mean 500 Series: 550 A and 550 B.
     
  4. presscall

    presscall United Kingdom SotM Winner SotY Winner Subscriber

    Online
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10,858
    Location:
    Lancashire, United Kingdom
    Smaller jet orifice for kerosene.
     
  5. OutdoorStefan Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Germany Stuttgart
    What is "jet orifice"?
     
  6. presscall

    presscall United Kingdom SotM Winner SotY Winner Subscriber

    Online
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10,858
    Location:
    Lancashire, United Kingdom
    The tiny hole in the jet nipple, out of which vapourised fuel emerges.
     
  7. BradB

    BradB United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,588
    Location:
    Central North Carolina USA
    The kero generators seem to have been easier to find recently. If you want to burn gas and can find a kero generator, you can take the gas tip off your clogged generator and install it on the kero generator. Or, the stove actually burns gas and kero just fine with the kero generator with no change. The power on gas is just slightly reduced but is still plenty hot.
     
  8. OutdoorStefan Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Germany Stuttgart
    Hi Brad, that sound easy. Any problem if I use a gas generator and burn kerosene?
     
  9. Scrambler

    Scrambler Australia Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes. The fuel will not have enough oxygen, will run "rich" with poor combustion.
     
  10. BradB

    BradB United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,588
    Location:
    Central North Carolina USA
    Agreed, the gas jet is too large to burn kerosene well. I must confess I have not tried burning kerosene with my gas generator. Give it a shot and let us know how it went. Don’t forget to prime the generator when burning kerosene. Brad
     
  11. OutdoorStefan Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Germany Stuttgart
    @ Brad: What do you mean by "to prime it"?

    @ all: The generator consists of 3 parts:
    1. the tube
    2. the thin wire
    3. the jet nipple / nozzle

    I understood that part 3 = the jet nipple / nozzle at kerosene is smaller (smaller hole).
    part 2 = the thin wire is also thinner or is it the same size (thickness)?
    part 1 = the tube is the same?
     
  12. BradB

    BradB United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,588
    Location:
    Central North Carolina USA
    As far as I can tell, the wire and tube are the same. Only the jet is different. Coleman’s directions for the 550B stove say to preheat the generator. Some call this priming. On the 550 stoves the burner ring is a trough in which I pour denatured alcohol. I use the feet adjusting ring to tilt the stove so the liquid alcohol concentrates under the generator. I light the alcohol, which burns and heats up the generator so it becomes hot enough to vaporize the liquid kerosene. I wait till the alcohol burns out and then light the stove as I open the valve for the kerosene. When burning gas in mild temperatures, the stove will “instant light”, which is a wonderful feature of most Coleman stoves. However, kerosene is a heavier fuel that needs a hot generator to vaporize. In below freezing temperatures you may also have to prime the 550 stoves when burning gas.
     
  13. Scrambler

    Scrambler Australia Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Australia
    Gas = gasoline = benzin
     
  14. OutdoorStefan Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Germany Stuttgart
    Hi Brad, thanks for explanation. OK - I got it.

    In the meantime I have
    a 550 B from Feb 2006 (ebay) (which I run with white gas)
    my old 550 B from Nov 1990 (which I serviced completely and start running with RUG again)
    a 550 A from Feb 1988 (ebay) which is just in my service-process which I plan to run with kerosene

    I have several generator spare parts which I successfully cleaned with acetone. I just try to find out if I can separate all the nozzles in a) small hole = kerosene and b) large hole = gas

    I will keep you updated
     
  15. snwcmpr

    snwcmpr SotM Winner Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    16,200
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have a Coleman 425 I use kerosene in. After the prime it runs great.
     
  16. Yun124

    Yun124 Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Gangnam, Seoul in Korea
    Hello, I also have both generators for 550B with both generator assy parts.
    The wires might not the same, I don't sure very well but the wire from the Generator ass'y for Kerosene might have smaller diameter. Let us know if I remember wrongly.
    If it's important matter for anybody, will measure both exactly soon.

     
  17. BradB

    BradB United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,588
    Location:
    Central North Carolina USA
    Thanks, Yun. I am likely too lazy to pull out the wires and check with the calipers.
     
  18. Yun124

    Yun124 Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Gangnam, Seoul in Korea
    So I am!
     
  19. OutdoorStefan Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Germany Stuttgart
    Today I startet the measurements. The wires seem to have 2 different thicknesse:
    a) 0,3 mm
    b) 0,23 mm
    See pictures attached.

    The next days I will try to measure the hole in the nozzle. I will use a digital measurement microscope with backlight illumination. Looking forward to report the results soon... IMG_2573.JPG IMG_2576.JPG IMG_2577.JPG
     
  20. BradB

    BradB United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,588
    Location:
    Central North Carolina USA
    Good work