Coleman stoves! How do you check the level of the fuel?

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Steven John Satak, Oct 23, 2021.

1. Steven John Satak

Steven John Satak United States Subscriber

And how much is TOO much?

I had a water rocket when I was a kid. We had to learn by trial and error not to put too much or too little water in the rocket. Too much and there wasn't room enough for compressed air. Too little and you ran out of reaction mass before your compressed air charge was spent. Of course, reading the instructions might have helped. But we were kids.

These stoves are the same way, but not as finicky. There does not appear to be a reliable way to tell what the fuel level is (our water rockets were transparent plastic). There is a level mark ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE TANK but I am deuced if I know how to determine whether the level inside is at or near that mark - or not.

I am just getting into this and have already scoured the forums for an answer. Maybe I just need to read the instructions!

Steve

2. Haggis

Haggis Subscriber

I’m going to be honest here,,, I have a have and have had a good many Coleman stoves,,, all sizes and ages… When they run out of fuel I add more… Give them a shake, if they feel pleased with themselves, I light them up, if they seem low on fuel, I add as much as I think I dare…

I’ve been using Coleman stoves and lanterns for well over 50 years, and my simplistic approach has worked so far…

3. John Eggert

You don't name the model of Coleman stove to which you refer.

Most Coleman stoves are designed such that if the tank is set level when filling, sufficient air space is bound to exist, by the purposeful design of the tank and filler neck construction.

As to how much fuel remains after use, a little tipping and shaking has always served to tell me.

4. Steven John Satak

Steven John Satak United States Subscriber