Does red hot really mean a hot running stove?

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by hikerduane, Feb 15, 2020.

1. hikerduane

hikerduane Subscriber

I've been questioning this for a few years now, does a red hot burner really mean the stove is running great? Does the flame have to be a perfect blue, some yellow seems to be just as good. So many variables. Oxygen, fuel quality, make up of metal, distances between burner parts, etc. My main experience and observations are my extensive Primus 96 and other makes of lipsticks collection. Blue flame doesn't necessarily mean the burner plate will turn red or turn red quickly, even at times the flame doesn't have to be full out. Also, many take five minutes or so to turn red, the bell may start turning a dull red though. All this is just on my work bench, usually no pot on for a "tea test". Quickest I have seen the burner plate turn red was this winter on one of my recent 96 finds, plate was noticeably red in 20 to 30 seconds.
    Duane

2. geeves

geeves New Zealand Subscriber

Difficult one as it depends on burner design and usage.
    Putting a pot on the stove will reflect some heat back to the burner so the burner will be a little hotter so will go red quicker. Roarers burn inside the burner so the bell should get red but the flame spreader has the fuel being squirted at it which cools it so at high power it is rarely red. Silents should burn outside the burner so should not get that hot although the large Primus 4 burners do seem to glow red in use.
    A blue flame is a sign of perfect combustion. This is where the stove is making minimal carbon monoxide and you are getting most heat per unit of fuel. Yellow is a sign of unburnt carbon in the flame so efficiency should be down and pollutants will be up.
    Sometimes though a yellow flame can be taller which might heat a pot faster if the pot supports are too high

3. presscall

presscall United Kingdom SotM Winner SotY Winner Subscriber

@hikerduane