Help creating / bending Coleman 400 Generator

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Boron40, Nov 21, 2021.

1. Boron40 United States

You guys are amazing. I am new to CCS and I thought I knew a lot about stoves but after coming here I find I know nothing. I don't even know how to follow along on your discourses. Some of you talk about whipping up a valve via brazing and machining and I am thinking, "WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE?"!

I've decent mechanical skills, but I've never worked in a machine shop, etc. And then somebody offhandedly mentions converting a generator from one stove to another. OMG! That never entered my brain but I am up for it.

Does anybody have advice and/or pics or a tutorial on how to do that. I need a generator for the Coleman 400 and 400A. The one with the integrated 2nd valve with the black "knob" or "nub".

I'm a Coleman backpack-stove guy. Unfortunately, they're NOT even remotely usable for real backpacking due to weight and size constraints. I love the 400 and 400A (kudos to the 576!!!). FANTASTIC, BRILLIANT STOVE!!! Not a fan of the 400B (hate it) or all the other single burners. (With the exception of the APEX I & II, Fyrestorm, and Denali but I digress! FYI: These, are fine for backpacking!)

s-l1600.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 21, 2021
  2. Ed Winskill

Ed Winskill United States Subscriber

As for those genius fettlers here, many of us longtimers are in awe of them, too!

Welcome to CCS.

3. BradB

BradB United States Subscriber

I would guess the Coleman 400 stoves have travelled thousands of cumulative miles in the backpacks of CCS members, so I am sure many will not agree with your assessment of that stove.

4. Majicwrench

Majicwrench Subscriber

My 576 was one of my very first Coleman stoves. Hated it till I read----and faithfully followed to the letter----the instructions on how to light the silly thing

5. Boron40 United States