Identifying and Valuing Optimus Camping Stove 'Prototype' Model

Discussion in 'Valuations' started by bibbishanks, Jun 30, 2019.

Tags: Edit
  1. bibbishanks Guest

Hi everyone,

My father bought this Optimus camp stove at an estate sale. The estate allegedly belonged to someone who was involved in developing MREs, but I've got no other information. The person who sold the stove said they believed it was a prototype, and the plain cardboard box it came in had "VERSION 5" written on it.

I have no experience with camp stoves but I did my best to do my research--it looks an awful lot like the Hiker 111T model you have listed in your database but I'm honestly not sure. I can't find anything that matches the grill-cover.

Brand new, original paint (dark brown) but doesn't have much branding or logos aside from "OPTIMUS" printed on the burner. There's also a valve that says "SWEDEN' on it too.

Do I have an authentic Optimus stove on my hands and if so, what do you think it's value would be? Any information to steer me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

More photos available upon request

8dli0HI_d.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2019
  2. Ed Winskill

Ed Winskill United States Subscriber

I'd hang onto that thing until all is made clear.....you just might have something there.

Others with more knowledge will be along....

3. CW

CW United States Subscriber

Post all the photos it will help with identifying the stove correctly

4. Spiritburner

Spiritburner Admin Subscriber

I think you have something unique. Unique doesn't necessarily equate to big bucks though.
    Whether it's by Optimus, another company or individual using the Optimus stove & parts as its basis, remains to be known. Either way difficult to value. More pics would help. Some folk may be excited enough to pay a good price, other may not.

@Staffan Rönn

5. Blueflame111

Blueflame111 United States Subscriber

Yes more pictures please

6. bibbishanks Guest