Intro, beginning Turm collector

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Tall Paul, Oct 23, 2013.

1. Tall Paul

Hello everyone. This is my first post to this forum, altho I have been lurking for about a year now. I have been making "beer bottle" alcohol stoves for a couple of years, by the dozens. They are great little alcohol stoves, but my main dissatisfaction lies in the fact that they can be easily tipped, and that the flame is uncontrollable. Adjustment is possible, but technically difficult to achieve. They run full out or not at all.

When I first started looking over this site, I poured through the stove gallery for hours on end. I came to the conclusion that, based on style and utility, I favored the German stoves, im particular the Ernst Hahnel Vulcano, the Turm Touring, and the Turm Sport, book style. Not sure if there is a sub-model designation of that or not.

It took me a while, but I recently purchased a Turm Sport as mentioned above. I'm in the process of restoring it, or Fettling as this site refers to it.

I have been trying to find out more about the Turm manufacture, but have not been able to find out much. From what I gather, the last stoves were produced in the 1970's, but little documentaton seems to exist to support this. My stove, based on the brand new in the box one that Matoshi showed is a bit earlier. It has the yellow and blue paint, a fact not revealed until I was able to get the red paint off that someone bathed it in.

I would love to talk shop with other Turm lovers.

2. snwcmpr

snwcmpr SotM Winner Subscriber

Welcome to CCS.
    I personally find a comparison of Turm to homemade a bit of a stretch. That said, the Turm is an awesome stove. And, so are homemade.
    For adjustable homemade stoves ... a ring can be added to limit the flame, that adjusts the flame. A ring can also be added to limit the air coming in.