Making a text hyperlink in a post

Discussion in 'Tips & Guides' started by shagratork, Nov 26, 2015.

  1. shagratork

    shagratork United Kingdom Moderator Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,642
    Location:
    Durham, N.E. England

    First find the web page you want to link to. This can be on CCS or any other web site.


    Pic1.jpg



    Highlight and copy the web address.


    Pic2.jpg



    Type out your post and highlight the word or words that you want to appear as a link to the web page.


    Pic3.jpg



    Click on the Link icon.


    Pic4.jpg



    A popup window will appear.


    Pic5.jpg



    Paste in the web address that you highlighted and copied previously and click on 'Insert'.


    Pic6.jpg



    Your highlighted word or words will now be underlined (hyperlinked).
    Click on 'Post Reply'.


    Pic7.jpg



    Your post will appear with a text hyperlink.


    Pic8.jpg
     
  2. Funfundfunfzig

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    475
    If you can't see the full URL for the thread you want don't panic! These instructions will allow you to embed a link...

     
  3. snwcmpr

    snwcmpr Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11,779
    Location:
    Here, not There
    I put my finger on my monitor and nothing happens.
    :) ROFL
     
  4. Funfundfunfzig

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    475
    @snwcmpr

    Try saying out loud "click" at the same time as you point. That should do it.
     
  5. snwcmpr

    snwcmpr Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11,779
    Location:
    Here, not There
    Ha Ha Ha!!!!!!
    That didn't work either! :)
     
  6. Andrew

    Offline
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth South Africa
    Can this be done on a cell phone, I don’t have a computer.
     
  7. snwcmpr

    snwcmpr Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11,779
    Location:
    Here, not There
    Yes, I do it with my cell phone.
     
  8. Simes

    Simes Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,362
    Location:
    I'm on the way....
  9. Tony Press

    Tony Press Australia Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5,382
    Location:
    Stinkpot Bay, Howden, Tasmania, Australia
    @Andrew

    It works on iPhone.

    Cheers

    Tony
     
  10. Ed Winskill

    Ed Winskill United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8,480
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washinghton, USA
    I have a computer, and a cell phone. But my cell phone is just a cell phone. Flips open nicely....
     
  11. Andrew

    Offline
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth South Africa
    Thank you.
    I will try and get it right one of these days.