Manning Bowman won't light

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Solace745, Jan 9, 2019.

1. Solace745 United States

I'm relatively new to the idea of alcohol stoves, but their design seems simple, and it seems like a great addition to my camping supplies.
    A whole back, I was able to pick up a Manning Bowman at an estate sale for free. I brought it home and put it up, to investigate at a later date. That date, finally was this week. However, I could not get it to light. I don't think it is pulling any fuel to the top.

KIMG1062.JPG KIMG1065.JPG

I'm not quite sure what I'm doing with it. I tried pressing the plunger, but it doesn't seem to do anything. Wasn't sure which way the holes on the side of the plunger are supposed to point. They were facing outward, should they point towards the Wick? Wick looks like it's never been used. Any ideas?

KIMG1061.JPG

2. snwcmpr

snwcmpr Subscriber

Welcome to CCS.

I have one. They are very nice. Percolating coffee, or a stove top espresso maker work well on this stove. It is also called a chaffing dish burner.

I do not have enough experience with other models of this stove ...the wick looks different than mine. (SEE PHOTO BELOW) It may be home made, and that may be the problem. We shall see.

Have you tried lighting it? What did you do and what happened?

Did you put alcohol in it? What kind of alcohol did you use.
    Denatured alcohol, everclear pure drinking alcohol, yellow bottle Heet brand fuel line additive, are good choices.

Do the following in a safe place.

Fill the tank about half full. Let it set long enough for the wick to absorb the alcohol. Add more if you need to.
    The pin that sets below the burner is a pump to bring fuel up and disperse it into the priming well. With fuel in the tank, pump enough to get alcohol into the priming dish.
    Have the fuel cap closed, and the fuel adjustment valve off.
    Light the alcohol in the priming dish. That will warm up the burner.