1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motor Sich 3

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Gavin Mulholland, Dec 28, 2016.

  1. Gavin Mulholland United Kingdom

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    London, UK
    I have had this stove for a little while now but could never get it to run properly.

    This time, I bit the bullet and stripped it right down and blasted it all with Carb cleaner.

    I then ran a piece of bicycle brake cable down the fuel line and left it in there to help transfer the heat better. Has anyone heard of this or done it before? Particularly interested to hear if you think it's safe or not.

    Anyway, put it all back together, fired her up and, so far, this is the result.

    image.jpeg
     
  2. presscall

    presscall United Kingdom Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,644
    Location:
    UK
    Yes I have, in the thread I started HERE
    Nikarotov misunderstood my photo of the stove failing to vapourise on paraffin, which I was trying it out on, and thought it wasn't working for me on petrol (actually Aspen 4) which it ran perfectly well on.

    Maybe a piece of cable would have helped to maintain vapourisation with paraffin, though it would also have needed the smaller jet I installed.

    You ask @Gavin Mulholland whether the cable would be safe to use. I don't see why not, though I'd be interested to know what fuel you're using. I wonder whether the thorough cleaning of the vaporiser is what made your stove run correctly and if it's not the inserted cable that's cured the problem.
     
  3. Gavin Mulholland United Kingdom

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thank you presscall,
    It is running on Coleman fuel so you could well be right that it simply needed a good clean out.
    If it stays ok I'll probably leave the cable in the fuel line.
    It seems like a pretty good stove once running properly.
    But heavy!
     
  4. Gavin Mulholland United Kingdom

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    London, UK
    P.s. That's a fantastic post Presscall.
    Thanks for the redirect
     
  5. cmb56 Sweden

    Offline
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Norrköping, Sweden
    Did you bought it from Ukraine or from any other source?
    I have thought for some time now to buy one myself.
    We will see how it will go with that.

    Michael
     
  6. Gavin Mulholland United Kingdom

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes, from the Ukrain via eBay.
    Once going, the flame is very controllable. I'd say more so than my 111 (though, overall not a patch on that).
     
  7. Russenjesus Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Hello Gavin,
    last weekend I got my Sich 3. Today I repaired my Sich 2 and the new unburned Sich 3 with the cable like Nikarotov did it and it functions:-)

    Have a nice day

    Markus(RJ)
     
  8. Gavin Mulholland United Kingdom

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    London, UK
    That's great Markus.
    They do need a little bit of work but once that's done, I really like them.
    Good job.
     
  9. Russenjesus Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    by the way, is the colour at your one also horrible painted without any groundcolour.

    My one seems like a Ural or Dnjepr sidecar from the 90's

    Markus
     
  10. Gavin Mulholland United Kingdom

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    London, UK
    Haha!
    Yes Markus.
    Exactly like that!
    And the paint is flaking off too...

    dnepr-mt-11-with-sidecar-1992-3.jpg
     
  11. Russenjesus Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Is it your one?

    ...and Heidenau tires

    Like Viton on our stoves

    RJ
     
  12. Gavin Mulholland United Kingdom

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    London, UK
    No, not mine.
    Don't see many sidecars these days.
    Nice though...
     
  13. Wim

    Wim Belgium Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,617
    Location:
    Dendermonde, Belgium
    Mine is brush-painted black over some screamy bleu colour! (My Sich is grey paint over rusted metal it seems... Very rough! And yes, flaking too! But otherwise it is a nice stove, after some fettling:roll:)
    Tires: a bit of everything! :whistle::lol:

    Best regards,

    Wim
     
  14. Russenjesus Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Here the photos


    P1020494.jpg P1020495.jpg P1020498.jpg P1020499.jpg P1020500.jpg P1020501.jpg P1020502.jpg P1020503.jpg P1020506.jpg

    Have a nice day:-)
     
  15. Gavin Mulholland United Kingdom

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    London, UK
    Grey paint over rust sounds about right Wim.
    That looks cold Markus.
    Good stuff.
     
  16. teckguy_58

    teckguy_58 United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    @Russenjesus

    Hi RJ,

    I have the same two stoves and was wondering is the cable you used 1, 2, 3 or possibly a larger mm.
    Thank you for any information you can provide.

    Cheers,
    Norman
     
  17. Russenjesus Germany

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Hi Norman,
    i used a 1.3mm cable. It was from a Bicycle maybe? This was the firtst what i found in my cellar:-)

    RJ
     
  18. Gavin Mulholland United Kingdom

    Offline
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes, I used a bicycle brake cable but as I struggled to get it through, ended up unraveling 3 or 4 of the steel threads until it fitted.
     
  19. teckguy_58

    teckguy_58 United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Hi RJ,

    Thanks very much for the information.

    I have both 1mm and 2mm cable. I will try then out and see with one fits better.

    Cheers,
    Norman