MSR XGK EX denatured alcohol

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Marlina Pfaff, Aug 4, 2021.

1. Marlina Pfaff United States

Please help! Hi there, I am completely new to backpacking and MSR stoves. I have a brand new XGK EX and I’ve been trying to test it before I go backpacking next week. A friend suggested denatured alcohol would work fine, but I cannot seem to get a steady flame at all. I went and bought Coleman fuel and was able to get a steady blue flame. Why am I having trouble with the denatured alcohol? I am following the instruction manual and this fuel is listed on MSR’s website as appropriate for this stove. I know you guys will likely suggest your preferred fuel, but I have no other use for this fuel other than with this stove. I’d like to use it up if possible.

image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 5, 2021
  2. hikerduane

hikerduane Subscriber

Coleman Fuel!
    Duane
    PS: Does not say denatured alcohol. Slap your friend.

Last edited: Aug 4, 2021
  3. Haggis

Haggis Subscriber

Run the stove on Coleman fuel, prime the stove with the alcohol…

4. snwcmpr

snwcmpr SotM Winner Subscriber

And alcohol will damage your msr fuel bottle lining.
    Have your friend buy you a new bottle.

5. Robert Jones

Robert Jones United States Subscriber

The XGK™ EX stove is a multi-fuel stove that burns a variety of fuels by using two different jets. The “GK” Jet (which should come preinstalled in your stove) is used for white gas, kerosene, unleaded auto gas, and aviation gas. The “X” jet (which should be included in the spare parts) is for jet fuel and diesel. MSR recommends using MSR® SuperFuel™ (white gas) for optimal performance. Leaded fuels should not be used. Although unleaded auto gas can be used, MSR advises against this as using it may shorten the stove’s service life.

Anyway, you have a fine multi-fuel stove. But it will not burn alcohol. (Sounds like you got bad advice about that.)

Incidentally, MSR FAQs cover this: