Need help with Coleman 505

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Olivier Naud-Dulude, Jun 3, 2020.

1. Olivier Naud-Dulude Canada

Hi, I just bought an old Coleman 505 and I am completely new to camping stoves. I can't seem to be able to make it work : after pumping about 40 times and starting it like it says in the instructions, no gas seems to be coming out and I it doesn't light up when I put fire on the stove.

I am using Coleman's camping combustible and the tank cap gasket seems to be in very good shape. I think the problem might be with the pump. What happens is when I unscrew the pump a bit and start pumping, it doesn't become harder with time. But when I remove the tank cap gasket, it still makes a pressure releasing sound, so I guess there is at least a little pressure going in (maybe not enough?).

So I tried removing the pump to see if it looks normal and everything seems to be fine (to me, at least). I added some lub and put it back in, but the same problem happens.

Here are some pictures so you guys can see what I am talking about.

Thank you in advance!

burner3.jpg burner2.jpg burner1.jpg

2. Ed Winskill

Ed Winskill United States Subscriber

Welcome to CCS. Help will arrive soon.

3. Majicwrench

Majicwrench Subscriber

IT should get considerably harder to pump after 40 pumps.

Oil pump leather with something, 3in1, engine oil, cooking oil even, then flare it gently w fingers.

Then, get some soapy water and piss it around your filler cap when pumped up. Any bubble at all is bad.

Next, pump up good and without closing the air stem (turning cw) put your thumb over hole in pump knob. It might gradually push back against you, but it shouldn't force your thumb up.
    Report back.

Got plenty of fuel in it of course.....

Last edited: Jun 3, 2020
  4. Olivier Naud-Dulude Canada

Thank you for your reply.

I oiled up the pomp leather with engine oil and I tried putting some soapy water around the tank cap while pumping but I did not see any bubbles.