Newbie and my Primus No. 77 retro stove

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Moho, Oct 3, 2016.

?

Should I restore this to original or give it some upgrades?

1. original

9 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. upgrades

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Moho

Just acquired a beautiful Primus no77 classic stove. I want to restore it. Is there anyone here who has done that? I need some advice and direction, I have never done this before. I have not tried to light it yet, but everything seems to work. The seals are dry looking, but it did store some pressure dry. Some barbarian hacked a hole in the side. I work in a sheet metal shop so that will be easy to conceal with a lovely laser cut stainless steel cover and a couple of pop rivets. I may even go so far as to replace the wind blocks with stainless steel to give it some bling? Thoughts?

IMG_20161003_180233_795.jpg IMG_20161003_180245_405.jpg IMG_20161003_180315_181.jpg IMG_20161003_180445_758.jpg IMG_20161003_180656_895.jpg

2. Rangie

Rangie Subscriber

I would just clean it and give it a light polish to arrest case corrosion... :content:

Alec.

3. Tony Press

Tony Press Australia Subscriber

Stinkpot Bay, Howden, Tasmania, Australia
    That is a mighty fine stove. I would restore it as is - no bling.

If you want bling, buy a new Coleman from eBay and go to town...

Cheers

Tony

4. ROBBO55

ROBBO55 Subscriber

G'day @Moho, Welcome and what an excellent find. :)
    Sounds like it needs new seals, a good clean and yes fix the hole.Then restore to original.
    After cleaning if it didn't look good (to me) I would probably strip the case and respray. :-k
    Have you looked at the other 77's in the reference gallery? It might help. https://classiccampstoves.com/forums/primus-no-77.172/

Good luck

5. Normo

Normo Subscriber

I wouldnt "bling it" either, just clean it up , get it working and enjoy.