Optimus 111 Boxes

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Neal, Apr 23, 2019.

1. Neal

Neal United Kingdom Subscriber

Hello everyone

Please bear with me (I will get to the point eventually I promise!)

I'm very new to the world of classic stoves but very quickly I seem to have been 'infected' with the bug and have now subscribed to CCS!

So first, greetings to you all ☺

It started only a week or so ago when I discovered an Optimus Hiker Plus hidden away in a small boat I bought from someone and had tried to clean it up a bit to use it but sadly the burner turned out to be broken (actually came apart in my hands upon removal)

Anyway.... I've been reading a lot of the posts on CCS and decided that what I'd really like to do is get a 111t (I'd like the option to be able to burn petroleum based and alcohol based fuels) and do that up as a nice little project to use on my boat in place of the broken Hiker Plus that was there before.

Now. .. being a beginner I'm possibly. .. no almost certainly. .. gong to end up making stupid gullible decisions about what is and isn't a good buy because I'm fairly clueless about what to expect for my money and unaware of the pitfalls.
    It also seems 111t's are thin on the ground or at least thin on the web anyway. But I found ONE here...

111T Optimus Stove (T017) – Kite Lamp

....I'm assured its been tested and it fires up ok and I'm hoping that anything beyond that I can figure out how to deal with with help from the good folks here.

So... in a foolish moment of impulsive, reckless madness I bought it. I won't be in the least bit surprised or offended if you all tell me I've paid WAY too much for it given the fact that it looks pretty beaten up and was clearly a lot of money as you can see (or seemed a lot to me anyway) but now it's done in any case and money aside I'm quite excited about getting it and lavishing some TLC (Tender Loving Care) on it.