Optimus No. 00 Pump problem

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Haydino, Mar 31, 2020.

1. Haydino United Kingdom

Hi Everyone,

It’s my first post on the forum and recently, I’ve been working on a Optimus No. 00 and fettling it ready for use.

I took out the pump to take a look if the cup was still in good condition... I was greeted by not a leather cup, but instead a rubber o-ring that was brittle and what appears to be a botched together pump.

I’m new to fettling these stoves however, from what i have seen i’m certain the pump should not be put together like this and the the thread is missing on the end of the pump rod. Does anyone know how to go about acquiring a new rod and end assembly?

Attached Files:

2. kerophile

kerophile United Kingdom SotM Winner Subscriber

Hi @Haydino . Welcome to CCS.

It looks from your photo that you have parts of an “O-ring” pump as fitted to last Optimus No.00 stoves that Optimus produced:

Optimus No.00L "Camper". Made in Sweden, Early 1990's. Un-used.

If you scan through the images you will see photos of the pump assembly.

The piston arrangement is basically a sandwich, comprising an O-ring between two washers, held onto the pump shaft with a spring washer fitting (which you appear to show in your photo.

Not my favourite type of pump, but I guess it was cheaper to produce!

Base Camp should be able to sell you a replacement leather based piston assembly and pump shaft

Best Regards,
    Kerophile.

3. Haydino United Kingdom

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Ah! I just assumed it was a botch! Would any generic O-ring be okay as a replacement? I'd like to keep it all original ideally, As it came in the original tin.

4. kerophile

Hi @Haydino A quick look suggests you have all the original parts there, although the O-ring is fragmented.