Permission to post info from forum

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Robert Radcliffe, Jul 10, 2019.

1. Robert Radcliffe

Robert Radcliffe United Kingdom Subscriber

I've been asked to write articles for a retro group on Facebook on the stoves and lamps in my collection. As a teacher by trade I love to share information. Is there any objection to me taking screen shots of some of the old catalogue info on the forum to add depth and interest to the articles? I would of course reference the forum which might bring new members.
    If this is not permissible I fully understand.

2. snwcmpr

snwcmpr Subscriber

3. Christer Carlsson

Christer Carlsson Moderator SotM Winner

Yes, I think it's best if you send Ross a private message so you can sort it out there.
    Mind you, the catalogues are posted by members in here, so it might even be better to ask those who made the scans in the first place.
    That way you might even get better illustrations with higher resolutions.

4. Tony Press

Tony Press Australia Subscriber

Stinkpot Bay, Howden, Tasmania, Australia
    Robert

The appropriate way to do what you wish is to first ask Ross (@Spiritburner ).

If you wish to use, in another forum, text, a photo or PDF posted by another Member, you should both ask that Member, and acknowledge the Member and CPL when you do so.

Best regards

Tony

5. Robert Radcliffe

6. Afterburner

Copyrights might even be more complicated...

Who scans photos, catalogs or other material might not own copyrights of that material. Many cases original copyright owner still owns the copyrights to that material.

7. Tony Press

Tony Press Australia Subscriber

Stinkpot Bay, Howden, Tasmania, Australia
    @Afterburner

In many cases copyright will have expired; but in most countries of the world ”fair use” or “fair dealing” provisions would be relevant where no commercial gain is involved.

Best regards

Tony

8. Robert Radcliffe