Primus 25 mystery

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by mackburner, Nov 17, 2019.

1. mackburner

mackburner United Kingdom Subscriber

This has me puzzled. I have just acquired this Primus 25 in fair condition dated AD and appears to be all correct BUT it doesn't work. I get a Bunsen flame OK but it will only burn inside the riser tube and cap so the cap gets red hot but there are no flames from the multi holes. Looking at the parts for 25 it has the correct 4140 burner with the hex nipple, 4678 inner cap and 4206 outer cap. However I discovered that fitting the smaller 4205 outer cap will work and very well. I simply do not understand why it will not burn right with the correct cap. As I am not a stove expert I suspect I am lacking some vital information here. Help anyone! ::Neil::

Primus-25-AD_01.jpg
    Primus-25-AD_03.jpg Primus-25-AD_05.jpg Primus-25-AD_06.jpg Primus-25-AD_07.jpg Primus-25-AD_09.jpg Primus-25-AD_14.jpg Pri-25 burner parts.jpg Primus-25-AD_01.jpg Primus-25-AD_03.jpg Primus-25-AD_05.jpg Primus-25-AD_06.jpg Primus-25-AD_07.jpg Primus-25-AD_09.jpg Primus-25-AD_14.jpg

2. Radler Switzerland

@mackburner
    I think your inner cap is too small for the large outer cap. If the space between the inner and outer cap is too wide, the speed of the gases is too low. The gas speed in the jet, the intake of air into the mixing tube, the thermic expansion of the mixture in the burner chamber and the speed in the holes of the outer cap are depending from each other.
    I own a Primus No.25 from 1932 with a silent burner with standard size outer cap. Maybe some of the users of the larger 3 pint stoves just wanted a longer use without refilling fuel, not a higher heath output (i.e. for keeping large pots hot during a whole day).

I wrote some words about this here: classiccampstoves.com/threads/silent-burner-outer-holes.39192/#post-411255

Best regards
    Radler

Last edited: Nov 17, 2019
  3. mackburner