Stuck NRV, what else to do?

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Sternenlicht, Jul 15, 2020.

1. Sternenlicht

Sternenlicht Subscriber

Hej everybody,

The NRV in my Primus No.1 Old Primus 1 DRP, which date? stuck.

I tried boiling water in the tank, penetrating oil, soft hammering with a hammer on the nrv tool. I also build a new nrv tool which sits quite narrow on the nrv.

IMG_20200715_123506.jpg

But nothing works.

Are there any other things I can try?
    Removing the complete pump tube should be the last step... which I have never done before :o

Ciao, Bastian

2. nmp

nmp United Kingdom SotM Winner Subscriber

@Sternenlicht
    Try plus gas releasing oil down the pump tube and apply pressure to the pump rod but not enough to open the NRV it might force some fluid into the thread? Boiling water does help sometimes but not always.
    Make a NRV tool that is held onto the head of the NRV using a pump tube cap so it cannot twist up and off of the NRV as you apply force?

your home made NRV tool looks very good by the way.

Freeze the tube then pour in boiling water? Anything to try and break the initial seal.
    Removing the tube on an old lady like that should as you say be a last resort!

Good luck Nick

3. mr optimus

mr optimus Subscriber

Hi Ciao you may well have to remove the pump, could try again with the penetrating oil leaving it over night, and try tightening it and then try undoing it this mite break the seal

4. presscall

presscall United Kingdom SotM Winner SotY Winner Subscriber

What’s the condition of the NRV head? I think you’re saying that the screw threads just don’t give way, not that the NRV tool rotates on damaged NRV head flats?

What works for me is to clamp the NRV tool vertically in a vice and engaging the tool on the NRV and gripping the fuel tank firmly in the hands, turn the fuel tank on the tool.