Svea 123. Not enough pressure?

Discussion in 'Stove Forum' started by Quick Cal, Oct 25, 2020.

1. Quick Cal

Quick Cal United States Subscriber

I'm new to these small backpacking stoves. So I know nothing about them.

I just got this Svea 123, no R.

So here's the chain of events.

I over filled it with Crown fuel by accident. Poured some out to allow for air space. I'm using DA for priming. Lit it the first time and it was kinda sooty, had a medium flame. No roar.

Cleaned the jet. Had a erratic roaring flame. Only roared a bit, then flame stayed lower. But I did get that chugging sound that I hear on a lot of these. But short lived.

I took the jet off and cleaned inside and where it screws into. Drawing a blank of what that parts called.

Have lit it several times and I'm not getting a good flame at all. Seems like it's getting worse. Seems like not enough pressure. I did flip the fuel cap gasket over. No change. I do have a new one on the way.

Is the tank supposed to get so hot you can't hold it long enough to turn the key. Also, the flame spreader is getting cherry red. Is that normal. My Optimus 8r does not do that.

Any ideas what's going on. I'm pre heating 1-3 times. Nothing seems to help. Am I doing something wrong.

Please advise. Thanks.

20201024_214006[1].jpg

2. CW

CW United States Subscriber

3. Ed Winskill

Ed Winskill United States Subscriber

It does get hot, and burning your thumb and finger on a key left on the shaft is a rite of 123 passage. And yes, cherry red is quite good.

Others will be along as to troubleshooting.

4. Tony Press

Tony Press Australia Subscriber

Stinkpot Bay, Howden, Tasmania, Australia
    It sounds like you aren’t getting enough vapourised fuel through the jet. This could be because either:

1. The fuel cap is not sealing properly. Is the washer hard? Try putting some Vaseline on the seal and see if that works.

Or,

2. Your wick is charred and not letting enough fuel wick into the burner.