Trangia/Svea

Discussion in 'Other brands' started by t-guy, Apr 11, 2012.

1. t-guy

Hi all, first post. I have a stove I can't identify. I'm new to spirit burners, but fell in love with the concept in searching for small, lightweight, multifuel, occasional use stove.

I have enjoyed learning a lot here, and seeing all the cool stoves that you guys have.

I went looking, and found this miz-spelt as SEVA on Evilbay. Some bad cell phone pics. Mods, please modify or move as needed...

After I learned more about Trangia, I realized that the burner set in the upper windscreen was unusual, as well as the hole pattern, and "hourglass" configuration. There are holes equally all around it, not just on one side.

1334107490-tg1.jpg

This is the top and bottom windscreens. I am a little confused, because there is no pot-stand to flip up, like most have.

1334107715-tg2.jpg

There is not a sign of a logo, or a single word on it anywhere, except the burner (Svea).

1334107828-tg3.jpg

It has two pots, that can nest, or stack. It has what looks like an original leather strap. It is still in one piece, but there is one spot where it is hanging by about half of it. No logos or stamps on the strap.

1334107909-tg4.jpg

This is the outside of the pan. Everything is shiny except the outside of this. Beside the strap mark is the remains of something adhesive. Did these ever have labels on them, or is it the result of Grandpa's labeling along the line (these came from an estate sale in Ohio)?

1334107971-tg5.jpg

The burner is unusual, to my limited knowledge as well. It has 16 holes (brass, of course) and a simmer ring that shows no signs of ever being hinged like some were, or have a rivet for the sliding door. I (think) I have read that the military ones were slightly larger, but have not measured this one.

1334108160-t6.jpg

Here is the frying pan/cover. It and one of the pots have a few visible dings in it, no sign of food residue anywhere.

1334108700-t7.jpg