Virtual Newark - 2020 - Zoom test thread

Discussion in 'Practice Forum' started by Spiritburner, Mar 18, 2020.

  1. nmp

    nmp United Kingdom SotM Winner Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,494
    @Spiritburner What’s going to happen in the virtual Newark?
    Are we showing stoves,workshops or what just in case I need to tidy up!:lol:
     
  2. Blueflame

    Blueflame Canada Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    Today I used zoom for the first time. Is there a way to isolate a person so you communicate only with them? Also what times (GMT) are you planning this session? 6 hour time difference here across the pond.
     
  3. presscall

    presscall United Kingdom SotM Winner SotY Winner Subscriber

    Online
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    9,550
    Determined by WiFi coverage I’d have thought. In my case, apart from indoors, the only suitable location for streaming video is a patch of garden near the house.
     
  4. snwcmpr

    snwcmpr Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14,097
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Not in the main room.
    There is a Breakout Room feature, but it can be complicated.
    You can have members leave and meet up in your zoom room.
     
  5. Spiritburner

    Spiritburner Admin SotM Winner Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553
    Location:
    N.E. England
    The plan is to open at noon BST (time check link) on Saturday & probably stay open for 12 hours. Break Out rooms are an option but needs admin supervision which could be impractical. I guess as all participants have a zoom account , a member could send a message to someone with their own meeting invite on their account.

    I'll be posting a seperate thread for the event.
     
  6. Spiritburner

    Spiritburner Admin SotM Winner Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553
    Location:
    N.E. England
    Whatever you want I guess!
     
  7. Spiritburner

    Spiritburner Admin SotM Winner Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553
    Location:
    N.E. England
    To give me a bit more control I'll be moving my main pc into the workshop & hooking onto the wired network & using my mobile as a usb webcam & mic via Droidcam. I'll also sign in as a guest on the tablet for 'outside' broadcasts. Should work - what possibly can go wrong!
     
  8. snwcmpr

    snwcmpr Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14,097
    Location:
    North Carolina
    2 more days.....
     
  9. Rangie

    Rangie Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,521
    Location:
    Caithness, Far North of Scotland
    I think I have it worked out. The microphone seems to be rubbish but it's worth a go before I condemn it!
    Fingers crossed!

    Alec.
     
  10. Spiritburner

    Spiritburner Admin SotM Winner Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553
    Location:
    N.E. England
    If you can, please change your name in your Zoom settings to match your CPL/CCS name so everyone know who you are. The option may be in different places depending on your device.

    Capture.JPG
     
  11. Big Si

    Big Si Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    983
    Well bit of a learning curve for me today @Spiritburner , I've reprogrammed the wifi booster, downloaded and configured Droidcam so I can use my phone's camera as a webcam, as it was pointed out yesterday the one on my old laptop was rubbish. So we should be ready to go over the weekend. Thanks for mentioning Droidcam, what a good tool.

    Si
     
  12. G1gop

    G1gop United Kingdom Subscriber

    Online
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Cheshire UK
    Having trouble with droidcam. It works for a few mins then the feed stops. Still says connected etc Anyone an expert on droidcam?
     
  13. Spiritburner

    Spiritburner Admin SotM Winner Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553
    Location:
    N.E. England
    Not had any issues Alan but not an expert either! It took me a while to get the USB part to work as I can't use wifi in the workshop. I had to enable developer mode on the phone to access usb debugging mode. I had my Samung set up like that from get-go for years but hadn't bothered on the Huawei - quick google resolved.
     
  14. G1gop

    G1gop United Kingdom Subscriber

    Online
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Cheshire UK
    Debug mode! Yes same here. Never got around to enabling it.
    Trying it now and so far so good!